Skip to content ↓

Little Hill Primary School

Little Hill Primary School

Little Hill Primary School


In the Foundation Stage we teach, plan and assess using "Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage" published by the DfE. This document can be found here.

The 7 areas of learning are set of as follows:-

Prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development


These areas are not taught in isolation but taught within the following specific areas.

Specific areas:
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Knowledge of the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design.
The Charactistics of Effective Learning statements encourage children to play and explore, be active in their learning, think creatively and develop key thinking skills.